A New Challenge

HAAAAAAYYYYY!!!!

Happy Summer!  How you living??

Good?

Good!

I began this blog about 3.5 years ago with a 30 day challenge.  My goal was to do 30 consecutive days of physical activity, in the hopes that I would get comfortable with fitness.  Maaaaybe even find it somewhat enjoyable, though I doubted that would happen.

Look at that excited, late-twenties face!

Look at that excited, late-twenties face!

Needless to say, it worked.  I’ve run two marathons (?!) and numerous other races, including triathlons.  Wut?  More significantly, I found a home and a community at The Dailey Method where I have become an instructor.  Doublewut.  We’re on the cusp of launching Dailey Cycle (a spin/barre combo class) at the Berkeley studio.

I teach spin now.  WUTTTTTT?

YOU GUYS.

YOU GUYS.

So yeah, the fitness thing caught on!

Time for a new challenge:

Hmmmm......hm.

Hmmmm……hm.

Vegetables.  The final frontier.

I’ve just never been into them.  My food history is complicated, crappy, and rooted in my childhood.  Pass the tissues, we’ve all got issues.  I’m ready to move on.  It’s time to change my mind and body, yet again!

Challenge Rules:

AT LEAST….

2 servings of vegetables per day (actual food, not one of those questionable greens pills from Whole Foods).

AND

1 serving of fruit.

That’s it.  I already meet or exceed this amount sometimes, but not consistently.  The real goal isn’t the consumption, it’s changing my attitude.  Hopefully after adapting, I will learn to enjoy them and expand my palate, the way I did with fitness!

Day 1: Cup of cherries, 2 cups spinach, 1 cup green beans, half an ear of corn.  Three colors!  Nailed it!

I’ll either tweet or FB my fruit/veggie daily consumption for accountability.  Maybe the occasional blog post?  Maybe with recipes?  Hahahahaha.  Probably not.

And because it wouldn’t be an internet challenge without a hashtag…

#StaveOffScurvy

BRING ON THE RECIPES, FRIENDS.  PLEASE.  YOU DON’T WANT ME TO GET SCURVY.

One thought on “A New Challenge

  1. courtney n. says:

    yay! a new blog post! Okay for some reason I love vegetables (fruit, not so much). I feel almost anything roasted with some olive oil and S + P turns out pretty well.

    yesterday, I made these. Not the quickest of recipes, but it says you can store for up to 4 days.

    http://nomnompaleo.com/post/66793339868/warm-brussels-sprouts-slaw-with-asian-citrus

Leave a Reply

