Sneak Preview

Good morning!

Kind of…

No.  I'm not sticking my lower lip out.  This is just what we're working with today.

No. I’m not sticking my lower lip out. This is just what we’re working with today.

It’s okay that I inexplicably look like a prizefighter.  I’m only working with like 75 adolescent singers today.  They won’t notice.  Hopefully I can distract them with a bold mix of prints.

Don't look at my face.

Don’t look at my face.

 

Moving on…

So, after a bit of athletic malaise, I’m fully back in action!  Training for the Oakland Half Marathon (deferred from last year) begins on 12/2 and I’ll be using the FIRST plan outlined in the book Run Less, Run Faster .

Does anyone else really enjoy reading on their iPhone?  It's like a little doll book!

Does anyone else really enjoy reading on their iPhone? It’s like a little doll book!

This plan appeals to me on every level:

* 3 running workouts a week.  Yay for avoiding injury and burnout.

* The workouts are targeted, specific, and aggressive.  A welcome change from lots and lots and lots of slow miles.  Exactly what I need to push me out of my comfort zone.

* To ensure that you get adequate cardiovascular training, the plan requires at least two key cross-training workouts (swimming, cycling, or rowing).  This is a PERFECT bridge to triathlon training which will begin properly in May.  Might even be ready for some early season sprint tris!

* Strength training is a requirement.  Yay Dailey Method!

* The paces are completely individualized and based on my recent 10k PR.  These paces will train me to run a 2:06 half marathon (a 4 minute PR).  This is a conservative estimate of improvement but one of the tenants of the plan is not to choose a time goal that is unreasonable because you will run the first half of your race too fast and fade or bonk.

* IT HAS AN APP.

Can everything please have an app?  So, so, so happy.

Can everything please have an app? So, so, so happy.

I am really excited about this program.  Last week, I did a modified (read: easier) version of the track workout and the tempo workout to give myself a little sneak preview.

They.  Were.  HARD.

Like serious sweat-pouring, heaving, bargaining with Jeebus hard to finish.  It’s great!  Just a little intimidating.  I’ve heard from a few Twitter folk that the paces are really tough to execute.  Since I’ve never really done workouts that were too hard to complete, this is just what the Operation: Speedy doctor ordered!

2:06 would be a great PR.  Eventually, I’d like to go sub-2 but I don’t think a 10 minute PR is realistic.  My gut tells me that this plan will train not only my body but my mind to go faster than 2:06 so stay tuned for that.  No matter what, I’m looking forward to running faster and getting more comfortable with discomfort!

I have a feeling that getting more comfortable with discomfort is going to come in handy next year….

Yeaaaaaahhh BUDDY!

Yeaaaaaahhh BUDDY!

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

