Back in Action: Food First

Today was a perfect day.  And perfect days have ball-busting workouts.  Preferably two!

I am sweaty and happy and very, very smelly.

I am sweaty and happy and very, very smelly.

Does anyone remember that the initial purpose of this blog was to see if I could find any enjoyment in physical activity?  Wow.

Everyone tells you that post-marathon blues are practically a given.  I came home on cloud nine after what was unquestionably the best day of my life.  A week later, Tim and I set our WEDDING DATE (as of this moment: 36 days, 16 hours and 17 minutes but WHO’S COUNTING?) and the following week, I delighted myself with an unexpected 10k PR.  I thought I might bypass the typical ennui altogether but that shit trail race left me with a cough, a strained calf, and a slight bout of runner’s knee.  Rad!

While I had drastically reduced my exercise in the last month, I had hardly changed my eating habits at all.  If anything, I was eating more deep dish.  To celebrate!  EVERYTHING!?

I took control of the eating first.  No more BK biscuit sandwiches (waaaah!).  No more deep dish (WAAAAAHHHH!) and most disturbing, I switched my Chipotle tacos out for…

…..salads…..

(With double meat, to soften the blow.)

This is a salad that I ate.

This is a salad that I ate.  There is more lettuce under all the chicken.  And the cheese.

I resumed tracking my calories with MyFitnessPal and I’ve lost 6.5 of the 10 post-marathon pounds that won’t fit in my lovely wedding gown.  Nothing like incredibly expensive photographs and garments to motivate you to drink water and eat green things.

THIS IS CAULIFLOWER THAT * I ATE *.

THIS IS CAULIFLOWER THAT * I ATE *.

I think it was a good choice to focus on getting my eating back on track before pressuring myself to rediscover my running mojo.  My knee and calf felt better every day and over the weekend, I knew that I would be ready to recommit this week.  I’d been attending Dailey Method regularly but my limited running over the last couple weeks had begun to erode my confidence.  And eroded confidence is not what I need on December 1st when I begin training for the Oakland Half!  Next time I’ll tell you all about that the terrifying awesome TERRIFYING training plan that I have selected in service to OPERATION: GET SPEEDY

How do you get your eating back on track?  Portion control?  Elimination?  Cleanse?  Lay it on us!

Oh, also….

I WROTE SOME FICTION.  No idea where it came from.  It’s pretty dark.  Check it out and feel free to leave any comments you like!

3 thoughts on “Back in Action: Food First

  1. Sarah says:

    Portion control! It the biggest and hardest thing for me but makes the most difference. Restricting or counting makes me feel crazy in the head, real quick.

    Also, keep writing fiction! Love it. ReadWave is super cool, I’d never heard of it until now.

  2. Amy says:

    I’m in a similar boat with you. After my tri back in September my eating went to crap and of course no training plan so the workouts all but stopped. I’ve got to get myself back on track. The workouts are coming more often but the food not so much. Ugh. I’ve got to get with it. Although unlike you I don’t have a wedding to motivate me, though I do have family pictures coming up. Gotta get with it. Back to myfitnesspal too!

  3. I can’t seem to motivate to changing my eating no matter what I do. I can train my face off but can’t get my eating in check! Someone help me! I’m glad yours is working for you. And yes, you have a lot to celebrate! A wedding will surely motivate (it did me). I didn’t realize your blog was started to try to find pleasure in physical activity. I’d say it worked!!

Leave a Reply

