I’m Running a Marathon in an Hour

20131006-054611.jpg
Good morning!!

I AM RUNNING A MARATHON TODAY.

I’m currently sitting on the bathroom floor of the Hotel Modera (highly recommended for the Portland Marathon btw). I set my alarm for 6 but woke up at 5 and thought I might get a head start on the essential morning activities. Some things you normally do in a bathroom (which went quite well thankyaJesus) and some things you don’t normally do like eat breakfast.

I attempted to write a training wrap-up post yesterday but I couldn’t find any way to articulate what this training cycle has been like.

They’ve been the best months of my entire life.

I loved this process so much. I loved getting stronger. I loved getting happier. I loved focusing on something so special.

I loved challenging every aspect of my history.

Last night, my parents picked Tim up from the airport and I guess the first thing my dad said was “can you f*cking believe Shauna is running a marathon?” My dad is my BFF for life and número UNO supporter. Even he still finds it hard to believe. I live it every day and I still had so many emotional moments where I looked with absolute awe at the changes to my self.

I am so looking forward to this very long victory lap. I’m physically and emotionally prepared to fully acknowledge and celebrate becoming the woman I want to be.

Thank you for letting me share this with you.

20131006-055737.jpg

4 thoughts on “I’m Running a Marathon in an Hour

  1. Clair says:

    Changing an entire aspect of your life is really, really hard. Thanks for letting me come along for a little bit of the journey. You’re gonna have a great day today.

  2. Lindsay says:

    I love, love, love this post! I’m commenting after you ran, so CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Love reading about your journey, and hope you enjoyed every second of it! I hope to articulate my thoughts as well as you did on this post before I run my first half this Spring. Heck, maybe someday I’ll even run a marathon! Again, congratulations on this awesome accomplishment. You rock!!!! 🙂

  3. […] When last we met, I was on the bathroom floor. […]

Leave a Reply

