Twas the Night Before Tri and a GIVEAWAY!

Remember when I used to swim and bike, in addition to running like a madwoman?

See Shauna Tri!

See Shauna Tri!

That sure was a lot of fun!  In fact, one of the things I’m most looking forward to when the marathon is completed is getting back on the bike and into the pool.

Anyone who participates in any of the three sports, let alone all of the three sports (back to back!) knows that there is a LOT of gear involved.  While I’m no expert triathlete, I can confidently say that one of the most essential skills is organization.  The last thing you want is to discover that you’ve forgotten an essential component as you’re setting up your transition area.

Or LEAVING transition.  Gloves: Check.  Bike: Check.  Helmet: ACK!

Or LEAVING transition. Gloves: Check. Bike: Check. Helmet: ACK!

Here are some tips for having a smooth, organized race.

* Set up your transition area and practice transitioning.  This will GREATLY improve your confidence, comfort and speed on race day.  Your fiancé will definitely not laugh at you.
Bonus points for wearing your goggles in the living room.

Bonus coins for wearing your goggles in the living room.

* Make a list.  Check it twice.

I'M NOT CRAZY. YOU ARE CRAZY. I AM ORGANIZED!

I’M NOT CRAZY. YOU ARE CRAZY. I AM ORGANIZED!

* As you put the items into your bag, check them off on the list.  This prevents you from becoming paranoid, taking out things as you double-check and then leaving them at home.

It's all there.  DON'T TOUCH IT.

It’s all there. DON’T TOUCH IT.

* When you arrive at the race site, set up your transition area exactly as you’ve practiced.  

* Smile, breathe, and (dolphin)kick booty.  Repeat on bike and run.

Want an opportunity to practice these skills?  Well, I’ve got the perfect late season tri for you!

Wait, these caps are SO CUTE.

Wait, these caps are SO CUTE.

My favorite running store: See Jane Run (for which I am a proud ambassador) is presenting a SPRINT TRIATHLON at Shadow Cliffs in Pleasanton on October 5th.  

I can’t tell you how much I would love to participate in this event.  If I weren’t doing another, endurance event the next day in another state (ahem, I’MRUNNINGAMARATHON), I would be there in a heartbeat!  See Jane Run’s races are wonderfully positive and fun.  Shadow Cliffs is a great place for a beginner and experienced athletes alike.  Since I can’t race, I’d love to give YOU  the opportunity to race!

To win a FREE RACE ENTRY to the See Jane Run Sprint Triathlon on 10/5, all you gotta do is answer this question:

What’s your favorite night before the race ritual or activity?

I will pick a winner at random on Monday 9/29.  There is not a lot of turnaround time so clear your calendar and stock up on Gu just in case!  I know a great store where you can get it…. 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “Twas the Night Before Tri and a GIVEAWAY!

  1. Tina harris says:

    I eat a couple slices of pizza. And get to bed early. (After laying out my race clothes for the next day)

  2. Valerie Gonzalez says:

    The night before I eat a nice pasta dinner and grab a glass of wine and relax with my family in front of the tv. Of course my outfit is already to go and snacks are packed!

  3. Kristina says:

    My ritual the night before a race is to listen to 80’s rock and try on ALL my gear that I plan on wearing/using. I do this to try and make sure everything looks decent on. If something looks bad I find a replacement. Thanks for posting 🙂 Hope I win!

  4. Tate says:

    Laying out my clothes for the next day and getting one last look at the course maps!

  5. Minette Castro says:

    I have my spaghetti dinner with my family! We laugh and talk about fun stories. Then I do my very best to get a good nights sleep!

  6. Kristina says:

    The suspense is killing me…

Leave a Reply

