100+

Hellooooooo September!

In August, I joined the 100 mile club.  105.91 to be exact.  Holy crap!

(And that does not actually include yesterday’s 18miler which kicked off September!)

It’s been a phenomenal month of running.

First run of the month was the Summer Breeze Half Marathon aka THE BEST RACE EVAAAAAR!

Happy Runner = Happy PR!

Happy Runner = Happy PR!

Next up: a fantastic 15-miler over the Golden Gate Bridge!

So, so, SO AMAZING!

So, so, SO AMAZING!

I will absolutely never forget the insanity and amazingness of the Bear Creek Half Marathon.  Oops, still owe you a race recap!  This will have to suffice:

Tricksy Trailsy Hobbitses.

Tricksy Trailsy Hobbitses.

This is the life.  Seriously.

This is the life. Seriously.

The amazing races and memorable runs accounted for 31 of the 105.9 miles.  The other 74.9 miles? Unexpectedly amazing midweek 9-milers, sluggish laps of Lake Merritt, emergency bathroom runs, and everything in between.  I’ve had moments where I felt absolutely on top of the world.  I’ve had moments where a short run felt so difficult, the idea of a marathon was laughable.  And cryable.

The most miraculous part about this month is that my body feels fantastic.  Strong and fit with startlingly quick recovery!  In addition to all the miles, I’ve been going to Dailey Method about three times a week, including after some long runs.  I’ve held back in thigh and seat work and used those segments of class as active recovery and pushed in abs and arms.  I’ve historically had issues with my left ITB, right knee, left hamstring, and most significantly my right posterior tibial tendon.  In the last month, nada!  I’m 10,000% sure that I’m feeling this good because of frequent active stretching with phenomenal teachers who pay close attention to my alignment.  I couldn’t be more grateful for the combination of luck and training that is keeping me healthy.

During some long runs, I’ve had doubts about the big show.  26.2 miles is so far.  But guess what?  SO IS 105.9.  If you had told me a month ago that I could run that far in a month and still love it, I would have had my doubts.

Maybe the welcome gift to the 100 Club is trust?

 

3 thoughts on “100+

  1. Congratulations on your 100+ mile month! That’s such an awesome accomplishment, and I love the way you described it all. It’s funny how the long runs feel like they take up so many miles but that so much of the distance is actually covered in the shorter runs we don’t put as much time and thought into. I’m so glad your body is doing so well and that you think Daily Method is part of it. I’ve heard such great stuff about those types of studios, but I just can’t find the extra money to get there myself. I know it’s something I really need to consider more.

    • Shauna says:

      Thanks lady! I’m so inspired by your incredible triathlon successes!

      Barre classes are really pricey, for sure. I actually work a trade shift in exchange for unlimited classes. The major benefit of freelancing is being able to train and do things like the trade shift. I’ve found it to be the perfect strength/flexibility compliment to endurance sports. Better than yoga where the teachers don’t always pay attention to your form and you can risk pushing too far.

  2. MG says:

    Congratulations! So exciting to reach a goal like this, and great to hear that your body is feeling so good and recovering well through all your training.

Leave a Reply

