Plugging Along

Happy Monday!

Happy FIRST WEEK OF SCHOOL!

Happy IT’S FALL OH MY GOD THAT MEANS I WILL RUN A MARATHON IN THE VERY NEAR FUTURE AND THEN TURN 31 AND THEN GET MARRIED.

#reallyreal

August was a great month of running.  I shed the last vestiges of triathlon (Miss you, Bike!  Do not miss you, Pool!) and focused solely on hitting (almost) all of my runs and getting the type of stretchy strength only The Dailey Method can provide.  I got my half marathon PR, ran the iconic Golden Gate Bridge, and discovered new levels of absolute insanity in the Bear Creek Half Marathon.  I owe you a race recap of that one but in case I don’t get around to writing it: 

3000 feet of elevation gain.

This is the top of a lot of these.   So many.

This is the top of a lot of these. So many.

Totally worth it.

Totally worth it.

That race majorly f’ed my body.  And also, trail running is AMAZING.  Seriously, the descents were so steep that in the following days, my obliques felt like I had done three TDM classes back to back.  I recruited every single muscle to get myself up those hills and safely back down.  Happily, I recovered after only a few days with the exception of a really gross toe situation.  #toegate.  It’s trending.  I’ve typed and spoken the word “drained” way more this week than is acceptable.  An acceptable number is no times.  I’m still waiting to hear from my doc but I’m inclined to let it heal itself like every other part of my mangled carcass temple.

The marathon is six weeks away and I’m just plugging along.

Physically, I’m feeling stronger than ever.  Yesterday is a great example.  I had a miserable 12 mile run (cutback week) that included an emergent bathroom situation from minute one until it was resolved in a hotel lobby bathroom at mile 3.  Literally and figuratively drained, I kept chugging along.  I finished with strong legs, no soreness or stiffness.  Went to Dailey Method an hour later to get some active recovery and ab/arm work.  Three hours of working out by 1:30 and while I was certainly ready for some couch time, I wasn’t exhausted and today I feel great!

Pretty remarkable that training…..

Having a lot of thoughts about the mental side of this process which I will share tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

