Eat This Now: Donut Savant

Full disclosure: I did not get these donuts today.

I got them last Saturday.

Yes, the day after I got these doughnuts.

It feels good to be honest.

Several months ago, SF Gate came out with an article on Oakland’s Doughnut Renaissance.  Timmeh and I took this as a personal challenge, as I’m sure it was intended.  Summer is the time when all magical things happen; perfect time for the doughnut/donut crawl.

Donut Savant is located on Broadway in Downtown Oakland, right next to 19th st. BART.

20 min from SF.  Just saying...

20 min from SF. Just saying…

Super convenient and dangerous for anyone who works downtown or attends the prestigious Oaksterdam University.

(…………Yeah, it’s a school for weed.  No joke…………)

After reading Yelp reviews and looking at their Twitter feed, I was really looking forward to trying lots of flavors.  Oreo?  S’mores?  Done and done.

I'll take.....all?

I’ll take…..all?

It’s clearly an old school donut shop converted into a new school, slightly hipster donut shop.  The majority of the donuts are cake with various icings and sugars.  They also offer an assortment of raised donuts with the hole nestled in the, uh, hole.  You know what I mean.

Every flavor looked good so I got one of each golf ball-sized cake donut and a glazed raised to compare to my beloved Krispy Kreme (krack).

Gluten-full, sugar-full, animal product-full.

Gluten-full, sugar-full, animal product-full.

Clockwise from upper left: Maple Walnut, Chocolate Glaze, Chocolate Dust (hidden), Cinnamon Sugar, Vanilla Glaze, Maple Glaze, Coconut, Glazed Raised (on top).

They were all DELISH.  Both of the maple flavors had a bit of salt and were so, so good.  I loved the crunch of the chocolate dust.  I’m not typically a fan of cake donuts but these were moist and flavorful.  The raised had a good texture and some tang in the glaze.  I liked it and would definitely try the chocolate glazed raised donut next time.

I shared AGAIN!  #donutkarmacoins

I shared AGAIN! #donutkarmacoins

The only bummer about my Donut Savant experience was that a lot of the special flavors I saw online weren’t in the shop on Saturday morning.  The woman who worked there indicated that they roll out some other flavors later in the day.  Looks like I’ll have to go in the afternoon!

043

 

DonutCat needs his fix, after all….

Are you also eating like you’re on Death Row?  What’s your sweet treat of choice?

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

