Truthy Tuesday

* Yesterday I wore a blouse with owls and orange shorts with embroidered navy lobsters.  And a wedge.  I felt uhmazing.  What is better than an outfit that makes you feel adorable and sexy? WHAT I ASK?  And why don’t all my clothes make me feel that way?  Might be time for another closet purge…

* I’m exhausted.  I was exhausted yesterday.  Last week was a pretty heavy week of training but I generally feel more energized when I’m working out.  Tim says I seem sad but I’m not!  Just too tired to be goofy…

* I’m signed up for my first ever SPIN class!  The Bay Area is very limited in the fancy spinning department (I think there’s a SoulCycle studio in Marin?  Not at all convenient.) so I’m taking Flywheel in Seattle on Friday!  Woot!  I’m most excited about clipping in.  It’ll be cool to try that out.  I can guarantee I’m going to do as much clipping in and out practice as I can discreetly sneak in before and after class.

* I don’t know why I just searched shorts on the Forever 21 website.  What was I thinking?  I’m 30.  And the world is not my ob-gyn.

* Tonight, I return to Shadow Cliffs to swim in the lake and do a run with my new (hopefully FOREVER) training buddy.  I’m going to swim 800m straight.  I’ve done it in the pool plenty of times but not in the truly continuous open water.  Pretty scared about that but I need to know what it feels like and more importantly, I really need to know that I can do it.  I know I won’t quit but how hard will it be?  And how much time will it take?  I should know by about 6pm…

* As I was typing the last paragraph, I realized that I didn’t think I was going to quit.  That made me feel pretty good.

* I’m not feeling super amazing about next week’s (!) tri.  A lot of people from my tri club will be there.  Instead of that feeling cool and supportive, it just feels like more pressure.  And I don’t even know them!  I’m not sure what I’m nervous about.  Maybe since the first one went so well, I feel like I should be able to exceed those paces?  Maybe since the first one went so well, I’m afraid that this one is going to be a disaster?  I can’t PR because the swim course is twice as long, the bike is 2 miles longer, and the run is half a mile longer so that should be liberating but it’s not.  We’ll see how I feel after tonight’s swim.  Maybe that will have the awesome mojo effect that my speedy run did before Mermaid?

* Merlin is going through a crying phase.  Whatta baby.  He cries at the bedroom door when neither of us are in there and I have to call to him until he realizes that we’re all in the living room.  #dummy #atleastyou’rehandsome

I can read, you know.

I can read, you know.

Ever find yourself afraid of a workout?  Do you do it anyway?  

5 thoughts on “Truthy Tuesday

  1. Sarah says:

    We want a pic of said outfit

    • Shauna says:

      Noted. I plan to wear it this weekend in Seattle. I’ll recruit a parent to document.

      Oh and, I’LL TRADE YOU FOR MORE WEDDING PICS AND MAYBE A HONEYMOON PIC OR TWO THANKYOUVERYMUCHSARAHPAGENEEBURTON.

    • Shauna says:

      Oooooh! Just went on FB and they were hiding there! Looking now!!

      • Sarah says:

        Yes that’s where they were hiding. 😉

        Oh, and I was so happy to hear that everything went smoothly with your father’s surgery. Speedy recovery, DaddyPNP!

      • Shauna says:

        You and Chris looks so happy and so beautiful!! Congratulations!!

        (We clearly need some other medium to communicate, like gchat or something.)

        Thanks about daddoo! He’s doing great and I’m going to Seattle tomorrow to hang out with him. It turned out to be very fortunate that he opted for the surgery because the blockage ended up being more significant and dangerous than the MRI had shown! WOOT!

Leave a Reply

