#Dirty30Something

Happy Friday!  Huzzah!!

Friday is my favorite day because Friday is the day that the new DIRTY 30 SOMETHING podcast comes out!

If you follow me on Twitter (which you should –  if you find this blog entertaining.  Twitter is where I really spit the nonsense), you may have seen me use the hashtag #dirty30something.  And hopefully you wondered what that was, searched the hashtag, and discovered this amazing podcast.  If not, you’re in for a treat!

Marissa, Nick.  <3

Marissa, Nick.  ❤

[Source]

Adults (on paper) come clean about being lost.

In the Dirty 30 Something podcast, Marissa and Nick discuss alllllll the ways in which the reality doesn’t match our expectations of what this time of life looks like.  Both highly intelligent and talented, Nick and Marissa speak to the disconnect between what they look like on paper (accomplished, together) and the way they feel about their place in the world.  I’m reluctant to speak any more about it because they articulate these feelings so much more beautifully than I ever could.  That’s why they have this fantastic podcast!

When I discovered the podcast, I binged on like, 7 episodes.  Marissa and Nick are my friends from high school so of course, it’s simply wonderful to hear their voices.

Is anything about this photo NOT working for you?  Thought not.

Is anything about this photo NOT working for you? Thought not.

Marissa in candy cuteness. Me in a hoodie.

Marissa in candy cuteness. Me in a hoodie.

Thing is, you don’t have to have gone to weird high school with Nick and Marissa (and their amazing guest stars!) to find them completely delightful, thought-provoking, and fucking hilarious.  You also don’t have to be a performing artist to relate to their exploration of identity and the definition of the ever-elusive “success” (whatever the hell that is).  They’re so honest and so earnest that I’m confident any thinking person in their late-twenties and early-thirties will appreciate it.  And laugh hard at it.

One of the weekly segments is “I’m too old for this/I’m too young for this.”  As in, “I’m too young for NPR to be the only pre-set radio station in my Prius.”  Or “I’m too old to still have never taken a single garment to a dry cleaner in my entire life.”

I highly, highly recommend that you give Dirty 30 Something a listen.  Seriously.  And then, once you love it, rate it on iTunes please!  They have recently been in the New and Noteworthy section (WOOOOT!) and your reviews can keep it there!

What are you too old/too young for? 

2 thoughts on “#Dirty30Something

  1. […] week and the five miler, I opted to do one walk.  I met up with my lovely friend Marissa of the Dirty 30Something podcast for a walk and delicious Greek food.  Best gyro meat I’ve ever had is at Ikaros on Grand […]

  2. […] surprise.  I already knew that my fabulous friends Nick and Marissa had named their most recent podcast episode “Marathon” for me but I did not realize that they were going to give me the […]

Leave a Reply

