Tough Week

20130419-084458.jpg
Boston Blue.

I think we can all agree that this has been a terrible week. Heartbreaking for those of us fortunate enough to be removed from this chaos. Unfathomable and terrifying for those directly impacted.

It’s been a difficult week for me personally due to overwhelming hormones (read: overwhelming emotional response to everything.) I’ve had little motivation or interest in any of my workouts. I feel enormous and sad. Yesterday I changed my workout clothes three times before going to the gym. Even the simplest decisions feel embarrassingly fraught.

One thing I’ve learned in my very short time as a participant in endurance activities is that the workouts you don’t want to do are the most important ones to complete. It’s an opportunity to practice relentlessness. Whenever I don’t want to get up, get dressed, get out, I think about Mile 21. 5.2 miles of uncharted pain left. My parents, my best friend Lauren, and Tim at the finish line in Portland.

I think about being 30 miles into the bike ride with another 26 and a half marathon left.

Yeah, I went there. I probably won’t *actually* go there for almost two years but the 70.3 seedling has taken root…

This week’s workouts have been fine and just getting them done provides a little kernel of success and control in an otherwise helpless, shitty week.

Keep it moving. You are loved.

Leave a Reply

