Heartbreak

I woke up earlier than expected, pleased to get to watch the marathon. I was inspired. I screamed for Shalane to make a last push.

Watching the elites in the home stretch, I found myself looking at the storefronts on Boylston. I was trying to remember if they were the same ones I frequented for four years as an undergraduate at the New England Conservatory of Music, one mile away. I don’t think we had that Trader Joe’s.

I cried when the pushrim winner blazed over the finish line. I cried again when Rita Jeptoo’s stoic expression relaxed into proud tears as her national anthem played.

I began to imagine what it will feel like to cross the finish line of my first marathon and spent the next couple hours with a goofy grin.

The news broke on Twitter and then more tears.

Love to everyone who was harmed.
Love to everyone whose phenomenal accomplishment was stolen.
Love to everyone who helped.

2 thoughts on “Heartbreak

  1. When I heard about it, well…I don’t know hardly anyone from Boston, and no one in my life right now. But I know some runners. And you were the first person I thought of. My thoughts were with you all day and I knew you would be so affected by this. It’s so…just…awful. Words fail me on this one.
    Love to YOU, Shauna.

    • Shauna says:

      How incredibly sweet, Rebecca. Thank you, truly.

      I’m much further removed from it than so many others but it’s been tough. I just hope these horrible people are found and prosecuted as soon as possible and everyone can begin to heal.

Leave a Reply

