Back in the Saddle

Who’s got two thumbs, speaks limited French and hasn’t cried once today?

Liz Lemon, nerds!

Who got back on her bike for the first time since she got up close and personal with that asshole pole?

THIS GUY!

20130323-194208.jpg
My only goal for today’s ride was to stay calm and comfortable. And to remain vertical, if I’m being completely honest.

Mission SO accomplished! I had some butterflies as I put my helmet on but as soon as I began to ride, I felt secure. I was actually surprised at how comfortable and familiar it felt to be on my bike.

I did two loops of Bay Farm Island, including two encounters with my nemesis the pole. The first time, I slowed down and walked past, with a bit of a sneer. When I came to it again at the end of the ride, I REDEEMED MYSELF AND RODE AROUND IT.

BOOYAH, POLE. YOU CANNOT STOP ME. OR MAKE ME BLEED!

It was a nice way to end a lovely ride. With two weeks before the official start of triathlon training, I am fully confident that I can complete the bike portion and still have the energy to run 3 miles. Exactly the confidence boost I needed as I slowly rebuild my post-injury strength.

Onward!

One thought on “Back in the Saddle

Leave a Reply

