What’s Up, Doc?

Went to my very, very nice doctor today. I love her because she’s friendly, quick to laugh, and listens. She is a wonderful general practitioner.

She told me to ice my foot/ankle, take a shit-ton (her words…..I wish…..) of Motrin, and stay off it for an indeterminate amount of time. And not wear flip flops. $30.

 

She sent me next door for x-rays to rule out a stress fracture that neither she nor I thought I actually had. $50.

Good news: I don’t have any fractures or bone abnormalities. Also, I’m basically a doctor.

Bad news: I didn’t get a diagnosis, a treatment plan, or any information beyond common sense. That is really frustrating.

So, I will spend the next week poppin’ Motrin, sitting under a Brussels sprout compress, and getting reacquainted with the pool. I also have an opportunity to cut back on calories and drop a few pounds since I won’t have much work to fuel.

Looking on the bright side…

5 thoughts on “What’s Up, Doc?

  1. JenJ says:

    I SO feel your pain and frustration. I’ve given up going to the GP for anything like that and take my issues (the many I seem to have on any one day!) straight to the physio. Especially if it’s running/sports related they’re the ones who’ll be able to help you so much better and at least you’ll leave with helpful advice and exercises!!! Heal fast, girl!!!

  2. girlinchucks says:

    So sorry. Yeah, my last GP was just shit when it came to things like this. I never had any athletic injuries, but I had this horrible pain in my finger, and they told me to just take ibuprofen. I said, “But WHY does it hurt?” and they were like, “How should I know?” I pitched a little fit about it and she was all, “Well we all wish everything could be figured out and we could wave a little magic wand and make the pain go away, but that’s just not life.” I was 27, not 4 and I almost brained her right there in the office. In the end, I got an xray and they finally just agreed with me that it must be the onset of psoriatic arthritis and send me on my way…..with the advice of…wait for it….take ibuprofen.

    Awesome.

    My new doctor practices standard as well as holistic care. We’ve had a much better groove.

    • Shauna says:

      SO frustrating. My doctor is very nice and not condescending like the one you described (I would have been a beeyotch if she had spoken to me like that!!) but it’s still really annoying not to get any insight.

      Sorry about the potential arthritis! BOO!

  3. Clair says:

    I’ve also given up on my GP for any athletic injuries. The chiropractor and PT are so much more knowledgeable, and neither will tell me to sit on the couch until I feel better.

  4. […] this lifestyle.  That means a conservative approach to recovery.  After visiting the doctor, I followed her recommendation of no activity and 800mg of Ibuprofin 3 times a day and frequent […]

Leave a Reply

