DNS

Hopefully not the first of many.

The last couple months have been a shitstorm of minor injuries.  I’ve had glute pain from overstretching, strange foot pain, and my recent bike crash.  Each issue has forced me to cancel several workouts.

This morning, I attempted my first run post-crash.  I still have some pain in my left quad and buttock (said in Forrest Gump voice, natch) but not significant.  Despite the lingering soreness, I was optimistic about still being about to run the Hellyer 10k on Saturday.  It was a gorgeous day and the plan was to keep the pace easy and see what was what.

Less than five minutes in, the foot pain that sidelined me most of last week showed up.

Whattabitch.

I figured it was worth running a bit to see if it stretched out and also to test my banged up leg.  My leg mostly felt good but it was clear that this foot was not meant to be run on.  I bagged it after a mile, walked back to the car, and made a doctor appointment for tomorrow.  My fear was a stress fracture but the more I read, the more it appears to be Posterior Tibial Tendinitis.  I’m not sure if my GP will be able to diagnose it but at least I will have done my due diligence.

When I made the appointment, I planned to wait until after to decide whether or not to race on Saturday.  Then I thought about what I would say to a friend in the same situation.  I would say:

“Which would you rather run: a random 10K that you can do any other time or the half marathon you’ve spent $100 on and looked forward to for months?

It’s a no-brainer.  I contacted the awesome people at Brazen Racing and offered to volunteer in exchange for a transfer of my race entry to another event.  They graciously obliged.  I will be trucking an hour down to San Jose on Saturday morning to be there at the ungodly hour of 6:30am.  To not run.  Better than losing the money, I suppose.

What a shitty feeling to drop out of a race.  Ugh.

4 thoughts on “DNS

  1. Awe, too bad about your injury, but way to be smart and not push it. Also, awesome they let you switch to another event. Volunteering can be so much fun.

  2. This sounds less like a DNS and more like a WSLFSR (will start later for smart reasons).

    If there injuries are kinda continuous, though, maybe you should just check-in on form/intensity/fueling? It’s supposed to be hard but not quite so painful xxo

    • Shauna says:

      I agree. It’s been a year of injury-free, consistent improvement so I’m surprised at this foot thing. The crash had nothing to do with form, fueling, or anything else that starts with F. Pure idiocy.

  3. […] last couple weeks have been…challenging.  Between the bike crunch and the emergence of (what I’m 99% sure is) posterior tibial tendinitis  I’ve been completely sidelined. […]

Leave a Reply

