Product Review: Old Navy Activewear

I ❤ workout clothes.

A year ago, my sweating wardrobe consisted of a couple pair of cotton (?!) black yoga crops, a size large pair of Lucy pants I won in a raffle, an ancient stretched sports bra, and some wife-beaters.

(Such a delightful term for a garment…)

Seeing the gorgeous, chic wick-wear on the rich ladies at Dailey Method led me to Lululemon. While I’ve managed to resist their pants, I’ve built up a healthy wardrobe of offensively bright spandex!

20130126-172243.jpg

As much as I love luxury, I’m a sucker for a deal. TJ Maxx, Nike Clearance Store, and Target are definitely represented in those growing piles. Workout clothes get worn hard and washed frequently so I’m okay with buying cute, cheap pieces that will have to eventually be replaced. When I found out that Old Navy was having a huge activewear sale, I hustled down to see what was what.

20130126-172756.jpg

For (gulp) less than the price of ONE LULU TANK, I got two adorable tanks and two pairs of super-cute capris.

20130126-173147.jpg

20130126-173246.jpg

They look cute but did they come to play?

Mostly, yes!

The compression crops are fantastic. I find the grey slightly more flattering than the purple heather but I’ve pretty much lived in them both. They’re my go-to cycling tights (since I don’t have proper bike shorts yet) and they’re also great for TDM. I typically run in skirts but I’ve run in these once and they didn’t move a millimeter. Big win! My only issue is that they exposed a considerable amount of crotch sweat in TDM but I guess that’s not really Old Navy’s fault, now is it? Slightly embarrassing but whatever.

I have a couple issues with the tops. They weren’t quiiiite long enough for my long torso so they rode up immediately on a run. That said, they provided a super comfy base layer for cycling and are totally appropriate for barre class. My only other issue is that the absence of cups and the thin material leave me looking a bit nipply. I’m small-chested and not trying to wear a sports bra under that kind of top. Especially when the back straps are so pretty!

Even at full price, Old Navy’s activewear is a bargain. I think they’ll probably be the first place I shop for capris, tights, and yoga pants.

20130126-174227.jpg
What’s your favorite brand of workout clothes? Do you throw down big bucks, buy cheap, or mix it up?

9 thoughts on “Product Review: Old Navy Activewear

  1. Anna says:

    I buy mostly Nike from the outlet shop simply because I am having a terrible time finding other workout wear here in Hungary.

    • Shauna says:

      There’s a Nike Clearance Store in my area and it’s like nirvana. There’s an entire WALL of tempo shorts in any color or print you could ever want. All for like $15 USD.

      • Anna says:

        Wow, that`s crazy! Here tempos come in size L only when on sale, in two colors and for round about … 20-30$ (That must be more expensive than the new-price?!)

  2. Jenn K says:

    I’m glad you reviewed Old Navy. I have a mix of expensive and cheap workout gear. I’m finding pros and cons on both sides. I think my favorite right now is Under Armour.

  3. Joanna says:

    Addicted to Lulu, but trying to break the expensive habit. I just got some tops on sale from Lucy that I really like, and I like Zella (Nordstrom’s in-house fake Lulu) for basic pants/crops options. I’ve found some okay tops at Gap, but I don’t know if I’m ready for Old Navy… (Nice thing about Lulu & Zella: they are totally guaranteed. So if anything goes wrong with them, you can take them back and get a replacement/full refund. I’ve done it!)

    • Shauna says:

      Well, if you’re not ready for Old Navy in terms of quality, Gap? It’s the same, no? I actually prefer the pieces I have from Old Navy to my Gap ones.

  4. Jean says:

    Not gonna lie, since I discovered Lululemon I can’t stand to go back to any of the cotton (or even just “any of the other”) crap I used to wear. So I guess the answer to your question is, I like expensive clothes! Although all my shorts are just Nike tempos, usually bought on sale in strange colors and patterns. I’ve always had a huge aversion to Old Navy because their regular clothes fit me SO STRANGELY (like, weird shoulders pointing all over the place and saggy crotches), but the things you got look pretty nice!

  5. runninghaiku says:

    I may have to try that recipe today. Looks nummy. Good luck with your workout.

Leave a Reply

