Eas(ier) Rider!

This morning, I returned to Bay Farm for my second solo bike outing.  My first ride was pretty emotional and I’m happy to report that this one was tear-free.  Great success!

So, what went better?

To start, I wasn’t an insane ball of hormonal rage.  That helped.  

To eliminate the frustration of getting lost, I did two runs along my cycling route this week so I was much more familiar with the area.  I also left RunKeeper running almost the entire time.  I was sooooo irritated last time when I would ride for awhile only to realize I had forgotten to restart the blasted thing.  (Of course, the one time I paused it, I forgot to restart it.  Sweet.)  The left photo depicts the sh*tshow that was last week.  The photo on the right from this morning’s ride is so fresh and so clean by comparison!

Tell me the photo on the left doesn't make your brain hurt...

Tell me the photo on the left doesn’t make your brain hurt…

In general, I was much more prepared.  I knew there would be times I would have to stop, walk my bike, reroute, etc.  I was also prepared to feel really awful and I totally didn’t!   I still had some difficulty starting and I may have cursed a few times but overall, I was considerably more at ease.

Where I was not at ease was shifting.  Basically, I don’t know how my bike works, how to shift, or when to shift.  Working on it though.  For the second time, my chain slipped off as I was walking my bike back into the basement.  How weird is that?  I put it back in the car and headed to the bike shop.  They generously made some adjustments, including my seat height.  We spoke for a bit about shifting and I learned some very important information.  Like how one part of my shifter shifts up and one part shifts down.   Whatever that means.

Did I mention I’m racing a triathlon in June?

Lola is concerned.

Lola is concerned.

Don’t worry, Lola!  When I’m going, I really enjoy riding.  Sure, there’s a lot to learn but I’m a BEGINNER.  (That’s in bold for my benefit, not yours…)  It’s a challenge but I’m certainly able to imagine a not-so-distant future in which I’m a competent cyclist.  Onward and upward!

7 thoughts on “Eas(ier) Rider!

  1. girlinchucks says:

    Turn “auto-pause” on in your RunKeeper app so that it will just stop when you do, so you don’t have to worry about remembering to pause and restart.

    Unless you mean that you don’t want it to count when you have to walk your bike, so you’re doing it manually…in that case, never mind! 😛

    • Shauna says:

      GOOD CALL! I didn’t realize RunKeeper had an autopause! I’ve been using it for almost a year! Thanks, girlie!

      • girlinchucks says:

        It is one of the best additions they ever made. I’ve used the app since May of 2010…seemed a much more cost effective for me than buying a Garmin. I hated having to pause and restart all of the time…auto-pause rules.

  2. girlinchucks says:

    Oh, and I’m glad your second ride went better! ❤

  3. I usually shift up in gears on flat areas so I can pedal less on the easier areas, I usually down shift on hills to make it easier to pedal. Glad to hear your ride went better! I have no doubt you will do great at your tri in June!

Leave a Reply

