Crappy but Even Swimmier!

I feel crappy today.

At least I look exquisite!

At least I look exquisite!

In more positive news, I rocked the sh*t out of my workout yesterday!  It was my second crack at that crazy 1500 swim workout and I was scared.  My energy was low when I arrived at the gym and I gave myself full permission to suck.

I did not suck!  In fact, I kicked ass in 42:40!  I know I shouldn’t be concerned about time in these early stages but whatever.  It’s still exciting.  I’m fairly certain the reason I was faster was because I managed to swim freestyle almost the entire workout!  We’re talking like 100 meters breaststroke total!  WOOOO!  The swimming is clicking and I’m loving it!

After the swim, I got on the treadmill for an easy 3 mile run.  My heart rate was so low, I thought my addled post-swim brain was misreading the pace.  Wow.  I finished with a 9:38 pace which I would be very pleased with in a triathlon.

Carbohydrates for the win.  Ugh.  Winning for workouts.  Not winning for wedding dress.  I HATE having to choose between bloaty carb belly (with excellent workouts) and svelte (but exhausted).  Though, I suppose I win either way.  😀

Happy Thursday!

7 thoughts on “Crappy but Even Swimmier!

  1. Congrats on the swim! I think I’d be more inclined to do reverse tri’s since I don’t understand the reason for getting soaking wet by swimming first and then running and cycling… I’d rather use it as a refreshing end!

    • Shauna says:

      Swim last = tired people drowning!

      I totally agree though. When my swim workouts are shorter, I’ll probably do them as a cool down after a run or cycling session. Still, it was nice to have the accumulated cold water in my hair dripping down during the run!

  2. I love reading your blog so much. Haven’t commented lately, but just know that I soak up every word and picture! I love watching your progress and your excitement over new experiences and benchmarks. I’m so glad that your swimming progress is matching your early running progress, or even surpassing it! You inspire me and make me laugh, and I am so happy for you. I wish we could meet in real life lol. Keep it up!

    • Shauna says:

      Awwwww!! Thank you SO much Rebecca! That comment absolutely made my day. I needed that motivation to tackle the next big swim workout. If only Merlin would let me off the couch!

Leave a Reply

