I Would Like To; I Will…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

He told me to tell you "Happy New Year" also.

He told me to tell you “Happy New Year” also.

After my epic post recapping 2012, I’m ready to move into 2013.  It’s hard to imagine having a more intense or accomplished year than the one that just passed but I’ve got some big plans.

I’ve never been a resolution girl.  I connote “resolution” with failure.   It seems like people resolve to do things that they don’t really believe they’re capable of.  It’s a very “diet starts Monday” attitude and the January 1st date just feels so arbitrary!  Huge BRAVA to the many whose resolutions lead to permanent positive change.

I’m pretty sure that the likelihood of following through on any type of goal or resolution is directly proportional to your belief that you CAN accomplish it.  To that end, I have things in 2013 that I would like to do and things that I will do.

Things I Would Like To Do:

These are all things that would be great to do in 2013.  I’m not sure they’ll happen for various reasons: may not be physically capable, may not be interested enough to fully commit,  may chicken out…  In any case, I won’t be heartbroken if they don’t happen this year but I bet most, if not all, will!

  • Take spin class(es)!
  • Make running friends and run with them!
  • Join a Masters swim team!
  • More trail running (need friends…)!
  • Group rides!
  • Run 800 miles!
  • Attend 150 TDM classes!
  • Run a 24 minute 5K
  • Run 10 races!
  •  Ride in a cycling race (metric century, maybe?)!
  • Track workouts!
  • Blog 3 times a week!
  • Figure out a nutrition plan that allows me to both feel slim AND have great workouts!
  • Be honest in my TDM practice every time.  Drop the ego but push myself past my limits.
Things I Will Do:

These are things that are happening in 2013.  Fully committed.  Fully excited.  Fully ALL IN.

In 2013, I will PR all distances (5K, 10K, half marathon).

I will become a wife.

I will become a triathlete.

I will run the Chicago Marathon.

BRING IT, ’13.

4 thoughts on “I Would Like To; I Will…

  1. Anna says:

    Bring it, 2013! Great plans, looking forward to your blog posts. And in case I ever fly over to your side of the world I`m expecting you to show me all of your trails! 😉

  2. Jenn K says:

    I wish we went to the same gym so you can go to spin with me 😦

  3. […] that I’ve completed all of my 2013 running goals (!!!!!!!),  I’ve thought a lot about what’s next.  I have some specific races and […]

  4. […] January 3rd, I committed to the […]

Leave a Reply

