TrizzleFrizzle and a Confession

TriFri is officially my favorite day of the week!

Sleepy Swimmy

Good morning, World!

So, swimming is still really hard and I’m kind of obsessed with figuring out how to do it.  Earlier this week, I did my second workout of 400 meters.  It was difficult but I had a few lengths of the pool that felt easy and fluid.  I had many more that left me gasping for air or coughing up water after attempting to breathe bilaterally.  Still, I loooooooooove being in the pool.

Despite still struggling, I decided to introduce swimming into TRIFRI!  We’re having major storms in the Bay Area (sorry to all the folks running North Face 50 and CIM!)  so it was a perfect day for my first sprint tri: gym style!

I packed up a ridiculous amount of gear and headed to 24 Hour.

So, so much gear...

So, so much crap…

First up: swim!  My plan was 4 x 25, 4 x 50, 4 x 25.  I evidently can’t read a calendar and my workout was cut slightly short by the aqua workout class.  I managed to do 350 in just under 16 minutes.  I’m pretty sure that’s extremely slow but it was only my third swim workout!  I have yet to make it a full lap freestyle without either my lungs or legs giving out.  I was able to get through the 50’s by switching to breaststroke.  I focused on keeping my head down, hips up, legs straight and rotating my body.  With only 50 yards (or meters or whatever the distance of my pool is) left, the aqua aerobics ladies started to do their thing and I was out!

Swim: 15:48

So, you know you’re insane when you’re rushing through your “transition” during your gym workout.  What can I tell you?  It’s important for me to do things correctly AND efficiently.  You can’t fight your nature.  Unless you’re trying to put a Lululemon Power-Y on a soaking wet body.  It was like trying to roll a condom over a side of beef.  Finally, I was semi-dry and onto the bike!

My bike plan was 12 miles, mostly cruising, some hills.  Did that.  Listened to Pandora.  Texted a bit with my beezy.  Sweated like I have never sweated before.  Had a BALL!

Bike: 29:47.

I love that pace because with my major cycling fear, it will take me three times that long to ride that distance on a road with other humans.  Hurrah for stationary.

Off the bike and onto the run.  This “transition” consisted of wiping down my drenched body and hopping onto the treadmill.  #NailedIt.  I got on a treadmill, set it to 6.0 and cruised.  I felt really…..(come si dice?)…..AWESOMEAMAZINGBALLS.  I didn’t have any noticeable heaviness in my legs.  I actually felt really fresh and warmed up.  That conservative pace was nice for the first half mile and I progressively sped up throughout the 3.1 miles.

Run: 29:28 / 9:30 avg

At the end, I was a bit tired but had much, much, much more in the tank.  Perfect for a workout and very encouraging.  I have never been so sweaty in my life but had a HUGE smile on my face as I chugged water in the locker room.  This workout was SO. FUN.  And illuminating.  I have a lot of work to do before I can go “live” as a triathlete but it feels like something I was really meant to do.

There.

I said it.

I am becoming a triathlete.

15 thoughts on “TrizzleFrizzle and a Confession

  1. hemingwayrun says:

    Excellent! I keep thinking about trying a tri (heehee) but can’t swim.

  2. JenJ says:

    Hooray. Awesome decision. Can’t wait to read more about it. Just a tip, which I’m sure has occurred to you already, but still: I know that a lot of gym-based tris switch the order, i.e. they go bike, run and then swim to avoid that awkward transition at the start (and your stuff getting smelly and yuk in the locker). Might be worth a tri (ha!)?! 😉

    • Shauna says:

      That’s a great idea! I don’t want to be too tired getting in the pool (since it’s already so challenging) but if I’m only doing either a run OR the bike before, I’m going to try swimming after.

  3. Anna says:

    Wow! It`s my goal to do a triathlon one day, maybe not next year but perhaps the year after. I wish you the best of luck with everything!

  4. Mila says:

    Out of curiosity, when did you start swimming? I never learned, really want to, but am always scared :/

    • Shauna says:

      Uh, last week? HA!

      I’ve been comfortable in the water since I was a child but I just started swimming for fitness last week. Learned freestyle from YouTube and articles. Once my endurance improves, I’m going to seek out some coaching.

      • Mila says:

        Learned from Youtube? Okay I’m officially inspired.
        Confession: Major reason I never really tried to learn was because I hated bikinis/swimsuits. Since I’m more at peace now, I’m going to follow your lead 🙂

  5. Awesome tri! And I loved trying to get a visual for “like trying to roll a condom over a side of beef”… thanks for that 🙂

  6. Jenn K says:

    Woohoo!! Go you!!

  7. Oddly, in America, it’s usually meters in the pool, I’ve found. 🙂 Woohoo, go you! I love your bravery and reading you discover your capabilities, and finding it fun is the best! I also love that you say come si dice…? because me and my hubby say that ALL THE TIME lol. (We met in Italy.)
    If you feel comfortable only breathing on one side, I say don’t sweat it…breathe only on that side. I don’t like water in my ears, so I also only breathe on one side so that both ears aren’t full. When I’m swimming I love using imagery to keep me on form, which is to say that I imagine *pushing* water behind me, instead of merely moving my arms through and around. When I bring my arm up from behind, I plane it down at a diagonal that I imagine is textbook-perfect form to reduce resistance as it meets the water, then quickly shift to paddling down and back to *maximize* resistance to get the most propulsion forward. (This is for freestyle, since you said you’re having some problems with it.) I have a tendency to look up (so I don’t hit my head on the wall lol), so I focus on relaxing my neck and looking straight down at the pool floor. Something I discovered recently about swimming is that when you’re kicking, it’s the whole leg. Seems obvious, right? But I realized that I mostly used my quads and calves for very small movements. If you imagine moving your knee down first, and then kicking your ankle, and finally your toes down, you get more power from all those strong muscles. It took some getting used to to kick that way fluidly, but having fins on really emphasized the difference in speed! If you’re interested in strengthening your arms, since everything else in a tri is about legs and lungs, swim gloves are a great bet, and they, like fins, will show you very quickly what is good form and what is not.

Leave a Reply

