Chickensgiving

Our family love of Thomas Keller has been fairly welldocumented on this blog.  (Remember the time I bought $40 of cookies at Bouchon Bakery?)

Ages ago, my wonderful friend Tonia gifted me the Williams-Sonoma DIY version of Ad Hoc’s famous fried chicken.

 

[Source]

For years, we’ve made an annual pilgrimage up to Yountville for this chicken (“Chickenversary”) and now, it was time to try my hand at making it!  The kit comes with a brine mix and a dredge.  I’m not a very experienced cook so I was a bit intimidated by the process but the directions were clear as could be.

Yummy, lemony, briney goodness!

The brine gets brought up to a boil and then cooled for a couple hours before the chicken goes in.  Even the brining liquid smelled delicious.  Keller don’t play.

Big ass chicken parts.

We opted for more chicken breasts and I forgot to tell the chicken buyer that they were supposed to be halved.  I came pretty close to becoming a holiday ER statistic and losing my hand for real.  Cutting through bone is no joke!  In the end, I triumphed.

I can haz a dredge?

After dredging, dipping in buttermilk, and dredging again, the chicken was ready to go into mega- hot peanut oil.

 

Fry, babies, FRY!

They came out golden brown and absolutely delicious.  Unfortunately, they were not cooked completely through so I baked them off in the oven for about 6 minutes and they were perfect.  Since the meat was brined, it was still juicy and tender.  NOMNOMNOM.

How can I keep from singing?

This was our private Thanksgiving celebration so I also made cornbread stuffing, crescent rolls (I have to have them every year.  Don’t hate.) roasted potatoes, and gravy.  It was a feast of brown.

The only green is the rosemary. My kind of meal.

I love private, day before Thanksgiving!  Anyone else do a home celebration before (or after) going out to eat with friends/family?

One thought on “Chickensgiving

Leave a Reply

