Wipeout!

I FELL DOWN!

Angry birds, natch.

Let me tell you about this amazing and perfect week of workouts and then I’ll give you all the LITERALLY GORY details.

If there is such a thing as a perfect week of training, this was it.  I hit every workout, challenged myself, exceeded expectations, and feel stronger for it.  AND it was rainy!  AND I had concerts!  Still nailed it! Can it always be like this?

Monday: Rest.  I’m so good at that!

Tuesday: 3.5 / 30:00 / 8:30 avg .  The super, mega SPEEDY DAY!  That was super, mega fun.

Wednesday:  TDM, 3.22 / 34:48 / 10:48 avg.  Slow run with a buddy who is returning to running after a few weeks off.  It was interesting to run at this pace.  I barely felt like I was doing anything and was able to talk normally the whole time.  No discomfort, even after my speedy run the day before.  Consecutive running days aren’t posing a challenge and that’s quite exciting.

I wondered several times if I could run at that pace for about 5 hours.  Today, probably not.  But in a year…..?  YES!

Thursday:  Rest.  And LOUIE at Davies Symphony Hall.  I can die now.

THIS GUY.

[source]

Friday:  TRIFRI!  (I’m not allowed to say that at home because apparently it sounds “idiotic” but I can say it on here as much as I like!  TRIFRI TRIFRI TRIFRIIIIIIIIII!)

I fucking LOVED this workout.  2 miles running on the treadmill, 12 miles on the stationary bike, and 2 more miles running in just under 74 min.  My running average was about 9:30 which would be a great pace for a first sprint tri.  Just sayin…

Picture taking abilities at minute 19, minute 74. #stroke

Saturday: Rest.  And by rest, I mean sing a reading of a new piece on the stage of the War Memorial San Francisco Opera House with the frickin’ San Francisco Opera Orchestra.  Then I sang the Schubert ‘Mass in A-flat’ with the San Francisco Choral Society and California Chamber Symphony.

N.B.D.

Sunday: WIPEOUT!  6.25 / 59:44 / 9:33 avg.

Basically, I ran about 3 miles, feeling  fab.  Cool weather, easy pace, happy times.  Tripped on something, took two large steps to try to get my feet out in front of me but no dice.  I fell forward, skidding on my left side.  Several people were around and asked me if I was alright.  Aside from scrapes and a pretty bloody cut on my right hand, I was fine.

Grody.

My hand and left leg stung (hello, my first road rash!) but I knew I was fine to continue.  Since I was near the end of my first loop, I decided to clean off my wound with water and a towel I had in the car and continue on.  The remaining 4 miles were  fine and the fall gave me an excuse to buy some sweet Angry Birds in Space (wtf) band-aids.

And then I got to be a diva again.

The show must go on!

Great wipeout stories?  Share ’em!

One thought on “Wipeout!

  1. […] the injury scale of 1-500, this is a 2.  I have full mobility of both hands and very minimal pain.  The deep […]

Leave a Reply

