Ughhhhhhh

You know the feeling.  In case you don’t, here’s a grainy example:

Can we just……not?

This week has been a toughie. While I’m really proud of it, the 11 mile run and recovery took quite a bit out of me. I returned to TDM on Tuesday and it was the hardest class in recent memory. Even my stronger areas (ab work) were exhausting and I had no heart.

I typically run on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays but I decided to push my Tuesday run to Wednesday. It would have to happen before my TDM trade shift so I mapped out a three mile loop that started and ended at the studio.

Wednesday’s run inspired my last post, particularly the part about starting too fast.  Nice thing was that I nearly maintained this pace through the misery and finished with a 3 mile personal best!

Oh! Thaaaaaat’s why it sucked so much! Sweet!

I “worked” my shift (read: checked people in and rolled tiny towels)  and dragged my tired a** through the 11am class.  It was interesting to take class after a tough-ish run.  The stretching sequences were excellent and I think I was especially warmed up for seat work.  I’m still feeling my efforts today, if that’s any indication.  It wasn’t my strongest class but it was doable, even within a few hours of a run.

Yesterday was a 12 hour teaching day.  Welcome, fall!  It was wonderful but long.   No workouts planned, no workouts completed.  I had a long break and was actually itching for something to do but I didn’t have any clothes or a place to shower before my afternoon students.  Or any energy.   Instead, I wandered Barnes and Noble and bought the new ‘Runners World’.  I did realize that once I get comfortable with swimming, that will be a great quick workout that I can do during a mid-day break.

This morning I woke up after a fitful sleep full of nightmares.  I woke up several times  throughout the night and when I finally got out of bed, I was greeted with every woman’s monthly party favor.  Glad it’s back on track but it wasn’t much of a motivator.  Neither was this:

Instagrammed for ultimate ominousity.

And yet, we power through.  The plan was 4 miles and by mile 3, I felt that weird pinch in the back of my left knee again.  My entire left leg has been tight, despite daily rolling and stretching.  It might be time for a sport massage.  So pricey but my instincts tell me it’s a good idea.  I finished out 3 miles tired and crampy but pleased to complete the task.

I can’t believe there are only 5 weeks before the big day!  I think I’m in a bit of a funk because I’m really ready to run the race!  Lots of training plans top out at 10 miles and I know I’m capable of doing a half at this point.  It will be good to have two more long runs under my belt but part of me wishes it was sooner.  Or maybe I’m just being a cranky pants today.

Must be time for lunch!

How do you deal with the super blah times?

 

Leave a Reply

