First Scare

Does an 11 mile training run require a two-part blog recap?  Evidently so!

When we last left off:

* I ran 11 miles.  It was hard.

* I had some weird pinching in my hammy beginning around mile 8.

* I f’d up my route and had to walk about a mile back to my car. #duhwinning

There were a bunch of crew/kayak/sleekwatervessel folks in the parking lot when I returned.  I owe them an apology for the most obscene parking lot stretching sequence ever.

Gymnastics.

It felt so good.  I probably stretched in that lot for a good 20 minutes.  I was tight everywhere but nothing hurt.  Hamstring was fine.  Left ITB was fine.  All my weaker areas felt alright.

I guzzled some water and headed home to face the music, aka. the foam roller.

Human Mommy, why are you crying?

Dude.  That was tough.  Possibly tougher than the 2 hours of running the preceded it.  There were a few tears shed when I did my quads.  I had to complete the session in many, many short segments.  All the predictable places were pissed off.  Usually after foam rolling, my muscles feel positively mushy.  This session just got them back to the tightness I usually feel after a workout.  From there, I grabbed a bag of frozen brussel sprouts and headed to the glorious couch bed that my dude had waiting.  Note: he is the best.

Handsome man is the best couchbed maker.

This is when things got a little scary.  As most of the initial aches subsided (calves, neck/shoulders, feet), my left knee and ITB were really hurting.  I’ve had a bit of soreness in my right knee from time to time but nothing I would describe as hurting.  At one point, I bent down to pick something up and I realized that my left leg couldn’t support me as I stood back up.  SH*T.

Merlin was pretty concerned.

I iced it on and off for the rest of the day and in the evening, I took Advil.  Dang that stuff works quickly!  Almost immediately, I noticed probably a 50% decrease in the discomfort.  This alleviated a bit of my fear that I might be legit injured.  I decided that I would try to keep my mind off it and not make any assessments until after a full night of sleep.

When I woke up Monday morning, the improvement felt miraculous.  I had no pain, no weakness, no instability.  Ice and ibuprofen is no joke, people.  I can’t even begin to describe how relieved I was.  All my training is centered around avoiding injury and I would have been tremendously disappointed if something had really been wrong.  I celebrated by taking a rest day that included some additional icing and a fair amount of stretching.  I’m still quite tight but stable.

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that something like this happened at the end of a week without Dailey Method.  I believe that the long sequences of stretching warmed muscles and the close attention to form have been the best thing for my running.  I stretched a bit after both of my other runs this week but I admit, I have not been as vigilant as I was in the beginning.  As my distance increases, *less* stretching/foam rolling/icing is probably a terrible plan.  I’ve been scared straight.  Quality stretching after every run.

Scouts honor.

3 thoughts on “First Scare

  1. Anna says:

    Uhh, you scared me there! I did the stretching in the beginning (right after injury too). Then all was good and lately I have been having some aches again. Need to get back into the stretching! (Note to self).
    I`m glad you are feeling better!

  2. Julie says:

    Did you still eat the brussels sprouts?

Leave a Reply

