Double Digits

I have officially run 10 miles!

That is a long time to run.

9.5 was on my training plan for yesterday but the idea of coming so close to that awesome milestone and waiting another two weeks to hit double digits was unacceptable!

I woke up early, had my usual pre-run Larabar, and took care of business.  Pardon the TMI but, hey, essential.  As always, I was a bit nervous that my tummy would act up but worst case scenario, I would have to stop.  No biggie.  My calves and hamstrings were still a bit sore from Dailey Method so I did a bit of stretching and foam rolling before heading out!  Squeee!  10 miles!!!

That’s my excited face.

The plan was to add an additional mile  to the 8 mile out and back I did a couple weeks ago.  This route took me from Lake Merritt to UC Berkeley and back.  It’s still so crazy to me that you can run from there to there.  In my mind, they are totally different and fairly distant neighborhoods.

I’m fairly certain that this run earned me an honorary doctorate.

The first couple miles are a combination of gradual and pretty steep incline.  I was prepared for this after doing it a couple weeks ago and my strategy was just to stay slow, stay comfy.  It was actually much more comfortable than last time though my pace was nearly identical.  Once I got into the third mile, I was relieved to know that I would just cruise to my turnaround point.  As usual, I checked in with the various parts of my body and everything felt pretty good.  I cruised past the brunchers, the dog walkers, and the coffee enjoyers.  It was a friendly morning and I got lots of smiles and greetings.  How nice!

The last mile before the turnaround felt a little tiring.  When I reviewed the elevation profile after the run, I realized that section was a subtle incline.  I have to admit, I had a few moments of “do I seriously have to do this again??” but as soon as I reached the turnaround point, I felt like 20lbs had been lifted off my shoulders.  It’s amazing how much lighter and freer I felt heading back.  I think I got into some kind of physical zone because I literally didn’t feel like I was running at points.  What an amazing feeling!

It’s a huge boost to have a lot of downhill running at the end of this route.  There’s a bit of a hill leading up to the home stretch and even that felt fantastic.  I just kept smiling and thinking “I’m doing it.  I am really doing this.  I can DO THIS.”  My body had begun to ache a bit but at no point did I feel the need to stop, walk, or even slow down.

In the last mile, I felt some aching that I’ve never felt before.  My neck and shoulders, my right foot, and my thighs were all singing to me by the end but not in a significant way.  As soon as I finished, I let out a serious WHOOP and fist pump.  Then I did my first round of stretching, right there on the sidewalk.

Dou-ble Di-gits! CLAP CLAP CLAPCLAPCLAP!

I don’t think my legs have ever been so tired.  I headed home to stretch, ice and foam roll.  Owwwwwwwww…….

I’m pretty sure I can’t move again ever.

I had a delicious Barney’s recovery meal (turkey burger and sweet potato fries for the win!) and spent a few hours on the couch.  Stretch, roll, ice, repeat.  The evening plan was to head up to Yountville (near Napa) for a special meal at our favorite restaurant: Ad Hoc!  Thomas Keller is our family spirit guide.  It was early enough to hit Bouchon Bakery in advance where we literally bought $40 of cookies.

Looking at this photo just gave you diabetes.

Of all the things that made me smile yesterday, the most special was knowing that if I’d had to run another 3 miles at the end, I could have.  I absolutely can run a half marathon in two months.  I can do it.

How was your weekend?  Did you run far or give yourself a diabetic coma?

9 thoughts on “Double Digits

  1. I like that your books are color coordinated on the shelf! I do that with my clothes in my closet!

  2. […] Yesterday, I had some pain in my right knee.  My body mostly felt good considering that I RAN TEN MILES but I did have some twinges of discomfort.  Nothing some ice and some seriously painful minutes on […]

  3. Anna says:

    A little late but I loved reading about your first double digit run! You did an awesome job. Out-and-backs are the easiest for me. A lot better than running round and round and round.
    On another note, I love your books too!! Fabulous!

  4. […] ten mile run a couple weeks ago went well so I wasn’t particularly amped for or intimidated by 11.  In […]

  5. Velia says:

    OMG!!! Wow!! This was so fun to read. I was sad when I got to the last paragraph, because this was exactly (kinda-more yes than no) how I felt yesterday and still. It was like you were in mind. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, I love this!!!! 🙂

    Same. Same. ❤

Leave a Reply

