Sneak Preview

This was a challenging week.  I was busy.  I was bloaty.  I was cranky.

I was a delight!

Summer is a very light season work-wise.  This is a bit stressful financially but wonderful for training.  I’ve had many full days off and at the very least wide open mornings in which I can run whenever and schedule TDM or yoga classes at my leisure.  We all know how much easier it is to stay motivated when you don’t have your focus pulled in other directions.

This week, busy took the form of voice instruction for a group of very talented kids at Bach Boot Camp!

Yes.  “Bach Boot Camp” is a thing.  A thing that is voluntary.

Single Windsor. Nailed it.

While it may be the nerdiest camp in existence (the above chorister is earning a prize for correctly tying his tie), the kids had a good time and I had a ball teaching them.

My portion of the camp ran from 9:15-11:15 every day.  With private voice students in the afternoon, I actually had to schedule my workouts around work like every other person in the world.  Believe me, I know how fortunate I am to have a flexible schedule.  I’m especially aware of what a luxury this is when my schedule becomes less accommodating.

With a busy teaching schedule on Thursday, I chose to move my regular training run to Friday.  Yesterday, I had private students after camp and returned to sing in the campers’ final concert.  It was a fun and full day.  As a morning runner, the last thing I would have chosen to do was go for a run at the end of it.  Especially since I have had INSANE bloating, nausea, and cramping for the last 8 days with nothing to show for it.  TMI.  Sorry.

Shauna, please meet Day when you don’t want to run but totally have to.

Day when you don’t want to run but totally have to, Shauna.  Pleasure to make your acquaintance!

So I dragged my tired, crampy, bloaty belly over to Lake Merritt.  It was sparkling and gorgeous.  As soon as my feet hit the pavement, I began to shake off the week (thank you Florence) feeling more alive and invigorated with every stride.  And guess what happened…

OH MAH GAH! WHAAAAA?!

I have NO IDEA where this 5k PB came from.  Can we please note that my full 3rd mile was 8:20.  Who is this speed demon?  Surprising myself is seriously my favorite thing.  I just can’t believe that these training runs keep getting faster.  Even the crappy ones.

This week was busy and I felt like kaka pretty much the entire time.  My mindset wasn’t as positive as usual, due to my yucky body feelings.  Still, I completed my training runs as well as 3 Dailey Method classes and 2 Ashtanga yoga classes.  Even managed to get into crow for a few seconds!  The week felt difficult but by all accounts, it was actually very successful!  As I head into fall and my schedule gets even busier, it’s good to know that I’m able to meet or exceed my training goals, even when I’m not at my best.

Having a super special burger date to look forward to also helps.

Burgers, Love, Burgerlove.

I imagine this won’t be the only challenging week on the road to half marathon.

When the going gets tough, how do you get going?

One thought on “Sneak Preview

  1. Julie says:

    I heart you text convo! I heartily agree with the last sentiment. And yeah, fitting workouts around my work schedule is doable, but not as ideal as when I wasn’t working. When I worked a job I had to be at 8am for, I had to wake up at 5am every.icky.weekday to get my workout in. Now I sleep to the leisurely hour of 5:30. Joy.

    Way to kill it!

Leave a Reply

