Week 8

I am into week 8 of training for my first half marathon.

It trips me out to read that!

Orange is my power color.

I have nothing clever to say. This picture is of July

I’ve done 20 runs and taken 19 Dailey Method classes.  I’ve done yoga, walked, and RIDDEN A BIKE!

No injury to speak of.  I attribute that to Dailey Method (great stretching sequences and vigilant attention to alignment) and icing.  I will NOT be sidelined by misuse.  Will.  Not.

I’ve lost 9lbs bringing me to 128.  A weight I haven’t seen since I was 12 years old.  My entire body has muscle definition that (pardon me, please) is SO ROCKING AND HOT.  I loooooooooooove it.

The first week of “training” happened on a lark.  I woke up wondering if I could still run.  I found out that I could.  I wondered if the See Jane Run 5k was soon and if I was capable of finishing it.  It was that week and I found out that I was more capable than I expected.  I wondered if I had the drive, enthusiasm, and physical stamina to train for a half-marathon.  I won’t definitively know until October 7th but based on the last 7 weeks, I can say without hesitation that I do.

8 weeks ago, I didn’t know if I could run 3.1 miles without stopping to walk.  8 weeks from now, I will be  up to 12.5 miles.

And hopefully able to get into crow pose.  😀

One thought on “Week 8

  1. thestandingroom says:

    re crow, navel to spine, round lower back, adductors on, root through all parts of the hands, think light – remember, it’s not about the arms, it’s a counter to backbends and is actually about core

Leave a Reply

