In It.

Thoughts during Couch-to-5k Week 6/Day 2:

Mile One – In It:

” I’m tired.  This is going to suck.  Maybe I should have taken another rest day since everything is tasting weird and I couldn’t remember my phone number yesterday…”

” Hey ShaunaBeth (no one calls me ShaunaBeth except me in my head when I’m working out)  – instead of listening to music and trying to distract yourself until it’s over, why not choose to be *in it* today?  FEEL your body.  Acknowledge the physical sensations you perceive and if you don’t like them, try to change them!  Release your breath.  Stay in your legs.  Okay, doing this.”

” This feels alright!  Legs strong, if a little wonky, breath fairly relaxed….”

” Feeling a little tightness in my chest and shortness of breath.  That’s okay.  You’re a voice teacher.  You spend all day thinking about and watching people breathe.  Time to take a couple of low breaths, release your abdomen, let your diaphragm descend and lower that heart rate….”

” Oh HAI large black lady with a mohawk who just upped her walk to a jog – YOU DO IT, GIRL!”

” I wish the mohawk lady would smile back at me so we could share an inspirational moment.”

” Ooh – that distracted me for about 0.12 miles!  Run again, lady!”

” I’m still running and I feel good!”

” Is there some advantage to running really fast and holding on to the treadmill?  Is that cheating?”

” Starting at 6.0 was a good, conservative choice!  Well done, ShaunaBeth!  Why not kick it up to 6.2?  Okay, ShaunaBeth, I will!”

” Well that was a lovely and successful first mile.  Now I shall take my prescribed 1/4 mile recover walk.”

Mile Two – CHAOS:

” Wow, it feels SO MUCH BETTER to run with music.  I LOVE YOU BRITNEY SPEARS.”

” I am a badass runner!  This feels amazing!  I have athlete legs!”

” This feels great so great, I shall push it up to 6.5!  This will end well!”

” Wait, I’ve gone HOW FAR in this mile?!”

” Slow down.  Slow it down.  Slow down immediately.”

” That is not slow enough.  Stop running.  Immediately cease to run.  Stop the running.”

” DO.  NOT.  STOP.  RUNNING.”

” BRITNEY, I HATE YOU SO MUCH!  HOW COULD YOU BETRAY ME LIKE THIS?”

” Marathons are FAKENO ONE CAN ACTUALLY DO THIS FOR 13 TIMES THIS LONG.”

” Okay, I can breathe.  This is okay.  It’s 5.7 on the treadmill but who cares.  Breathe, ShaunaBeth, you overzealous bad choice maker.”

” Back up to 6.1.  Half a mile left.  Doable.  Hard.  This is hard.  What’s mohawk lady doing?  Why does Bad Romance sound so slow today?”

” All these people walking at 0.5 and talking on their cell phones are the worst.”

” Push it to 6.2 and finish strong!  DO IT FOR THE MOHAWK LADY.”

” 0.10 left.  GOT THIS!”

” YESSSSSSSSS!”

4 thoughts on “In It.

  1. Hehe. You made me lol. Do it, girl! Ah man, I neeeeed music. Gym days with no headphones? No bueno. And the only thing running really fast and hanging onto the treadmill is good for is lowering your heart rate? Because it certainly doesn’t raise it. It’s a cheat. And full marathons? Pretty sure people partially walk. Still blows my mind. And I’ve done like 3/5 of one… I’m sure mohawk lady appreciated your commitment. 😉

  2. Shauna says:

    She didn’t even CARE.

  3. […] neighborhoods and did this workout on the treadmill.  Learning from the mistakes I made in my previous workout, I started at my “conservative” pace: […]

Leave a Reply

