Change

Past:  One or two unhealthy meals would open the floodgates to months or years of unhealthy eating.

Present:  Unhealthy treats are savored, the physical effects are noted, back to healthy eating at the next meal.

 

Past:  Pain when working out meant STOP.

Present:  Pain when working out means DIG.

 

Past: Working out = obligation and punishment for bad behavior.

Present: Working out = opportunity to impress and surprise myself.

 

Past:  Cankles.

Present: Thinner cankles!

 

Way Past: Skipped (like “tra la la” skip) the mile in 7th grade to avoid the embarrassment of not being able to run.

Past: 12-13 minute mile during c25k workouts.

Past:  9:17-10mm during c25k workouts and obsession with reading marathon recaps.  Runner fantasies abound.

 

Past:  Felt *wrong*.  Felt like my body didn’t at all match the person I believed myself to be inside.

Present:  My appearance and dedication to improving myself reflect my inner optimism and passion.

 

Past Painfully aware of everyone around me.  At the gym, at the lake, at TDM.  Assumed that everyone who made eye contact with me was judging my body, judging my fitness level and feeling grateful that they weren’t me.

Present:  Don’t know, don’t care.  If anyone is looking at my waist or stomach though, they’re probably jealous.  Not that it matters…  😀

 

Past:  Shame.

Present:  Pride.

3 thoughts on “Change

  1. Ack! Get out of my head! This is *exactly* me! The me of a few years ago. And the me of more than a few years ago. I started not being able to run a mile, and went all the way to doing a half marathon. I never thought I’d even do a 10k! It’s a slow progression, but it’s amazing how you body just keeps doing more and more and more – if you do it! That feeling of pride and comfort in my own skin has totally made all that blood and sweat worth it!

  2. Shauna says:

    I can admit this because no one is reading this blog, let alone the comments but I think I have at least a half in me. I plan to do a 5k in April or early May and take it from there…

    Thank you so much for commenting and reading the blog, Julie. The support means everything. 😀

    • Really? I was hoping that I wasn’t bugging you with all my annoying comments. But I really identify with everything you’re doing (with the running and the cooking) because that was literally me like 2-3 years ago. It’s fun for me to read along and say “that was me! I know what you’re talking about!” 🙂

      Also, you *totally* have a half in you. Know how I know? Because I am so nonathletic – always was, always will be in some ways – that if I can do it, you can definitely do it. It’s just a matter of sticking with it. Which you can totally do. 😉 It’s just about taking it slow. A 5k is the perfect place to start!

Leave a Reply

