Wind Blows.

This was originally entitled “Wind Sucks” until I realized that made no sense and was too close to a statement that actually did make sense.

C25K Week 2 Day 3 on Saturday.  For some reason, on the drive to the lake, I felt a little nervous!  My running has been going so well, I suppose I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop.  As I parked, I couldn’t help but smile.  The sun was shining, the lake was glittering and I knew it would be a lovely run.

I recently got an iPhone but have yet to purchase a suitable arm-band.  In the absence of a running app or a garmin, I’m not sure what my outdoor pace is.  Since running outside has historically been so challenging for me, I have focused on keeping my heart rate at a comfortable, but elevated level.  If I start to feel uncomfortable or want to stop, I know I should just pull back my speed a bit.  This strategy came in very handy on this particular day because it was WINDY.   And we’re talking jerky head wind pushing me to certain death in the lake, not tail wind gently carrying me along to awesomeness.  I’m sure my pace was considerably slower than W1’s run at the lake but that day was perfectly still and I had the adrenaline of unexpected success.  I’m actually beginning to enjoy challenges because my ability to mentally push through discomfort still needs development if I’m going to fully kick ass.

But wind still sucks.  Er, blows.

Leave a Reply

