You Spin Me Right Round, Baby, Right Round Like a Record Player Right Round Round Round!

The motto of Augusta 70.3 training (which officially starts in about two weeks, holy crap) is…

JUST DO IT.

Meaning:

*Cut the drama.

* Ignore the nerves.

* Get your work done.

I employed this motto for the first time about a month ago when I spontaneously decided to put on my hand-me-down pedals (thanks, Jess!) and clip my hand-me-down cycling shoes into them (thanks, Velia!)  I figured I would watch thirty YouTube videos and practice in my doorway for a month before actually attempting to clip in outside.  I floated this idea with my stepbrother (who can literally eat a spaghetti dinner while riding his bike in the snow) and he said “why don’t you just go ride?  Just do it!”

So I did!

Customary excitement and falling!

Customary excitement and falling!

I only had a couple little tipovers, AFTER I had clipped out and put one foot on the ground.  That’s how I do!

So, riding clipped in is AWESOME.  You all knew that.  I love being able to use my hamstrings and glutes more.  I could definitely feel the difference riding in the wind and I’m sure hills will be infinitely easier.  Hear that, Bears?

In the spirit of just doing stuff, I went to my first spin class today!

The class was held at my gym.  I arrived about 15 min early to ensure that I got a spot.  When it was time to enter the studio, I introduced myself to a few other classmates (including another brave newbie) and the instructor, Benjamin.  He was super cool and helped me set up my bike.  I clipped in and started gently spinning until the class officially began.

I LOVED IT!  WHERE HAS SPIN BEEN ALL MY LIFE!

Loved the hill climbs.  Loved being out of the saddle.  Loved the sprints.  Loved cycling in time with the music.  Loved it loved it loved it.

Without question, I need to get comfortable riding outside.  I will not substitute spin classes for outdoor time in my own saddle but a mid-week ride?  YOU BETCHA!

What have you “just done” this week?

Any triathletes out there incorporate spinning?

Anyone want to give me infinities monies to go to fancy spinning in SF?

7 thoughts on “You Spin Me Right Round, Baby, Right Round Like a Record Player Right Round Round Round!

  1. un clip a good 10-15 feet before you need to stop, you can also adjust the tension on the pedal to make it easier to un clip, the tip over is part of riding clipped in its a badge of honor of being a cyclist

    • Shauna says:

      Thanks! The sad thing is, I did both of those things, had a foot safely on the ground and fell over once I was already stopped. It’s a special flavor of clumsiness. And I did that twice. :)

  2. I’m training for tris and getting the hang of being clipped in. Definitely love spin class for workweek bike training!

  3. Mary Sue says:

    I love, love, love spin! It has become my favorite workout and has absolutely made a difference in my cycling, especially climbing the hills.

  4. kimretta says:

    The only good thing about unclipping crashes is that they’re just a collision between you and you. Congrats on getting it done!

  5. clair says:

    I love spinning! And clipping in – well, minus all the falling. If you come to SF for fancy spinning I will join you. Can we launch a kickstarter for that?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers

