Are We There Yet?

Yesterday, I did my……….

IMG_7704

Remember how I registered for a Half-Ironman? Thaaaaaaaaaat…

I’m currently getting back in shape and training for the Oakland Half but honestly, the finish line I see during every tough workout is Augusta.

A few months ago, one of my fellow See Jane Run ambassadors, the lovely Tara, loaned me her trainer.  I finally learned how to put it on last week and yesterday morning I ventured down to the basement for my inaugural ride to nowhere!

It took me a bit of jimmying but eventually the bike fit securely into the trainer.  I have nothing to compare it to but my borrowed Travel Trac feels secure and looks to retail for under $200, in case anyone is in the market.  It’s not super noisy but loud enough that I preferred to use headphones while watching Netflix.

I figured one episode of What Not to Wear would be a good first ride, about 45 minutes.  I regularly do 45 or hour long rides at the gym but my own bike is quite a bit harder.  I loved it!  Being able to use my own gears and become one with my own seat is fantastic.  I’ve been riding a bike for exactly one year so I still have a long way to go in building confidence and comfort.  I think spending time on the trainer is really going to help with that, especially once I put my clipless pedals on.  Yeah, that’s happening.

The bike is so deceptively challenging!  I was sweaty and my heart rate was up a bit but it didn’t feel like a killer workout.  Then I went to Dailey Method and couldn’t do ANYTHING.  I came down to my knees in every plank sequence!  I don’t think that happened in the very first class I took!  Thigh work was impossible and by the final set of high c-curve abdominal work, I could barely hold my body up in space.  Dang, bike!

So naturally, I refuled.  With pork belly.

IMG_7714

 

What are your favorite trainer workouts and tips?  Intervals? Cool one-leg drills?  Lay ‘em on me!

5 thoughts on “Are We There Yet?

  1. Alex Kalish says:

    I’m a big fan TrainerRoad.com. It only requires an ANT+ (or Bluetooth) speed/cadence sensor and USB stick. It has training plans and workouts. Results can be uploaded to other sites (Garmin Connect, Strava, etc).

  2. clair says:

    I feel the trainer love. Here are a few awesome workouts: http://frayedlacesracing.com/resources/workouts/ – happy riding!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 499 other followers

