Change of Plan

During half marathon training, I secretly decided that, someday,  I would run a full marathon.

(It must have been a really good run when I made that decision because in mile 5 of my half marathon, I was convinced that full marathons were a HOAX.)

There was no question in my mind which would be my first: Chicago.  By all accounts, it’s an amazing first marathon.  I’ve always wanted to visit the city, mostly to eat at the restaurants of Grant Achatz and Rick Bayless.  The first marathon recap I ever read was Liz’s description of the 2010 marathon, so it’s been on my radar since before racing even felt like a possibility.  Chicago is typically held on my birthday weekend (10/7), allowing me to celebrate a new age with a huge accomplishment.  Not a bad tradition!  I went public with my intentions several months ago and have completely adjusted to the reality that I would run the Chicago Marathon on 10/13/2013.

So, yesterday, I was randomly reading an article that mentioned the Portland Marathon.  On 10/6.  In Portland, OR.  I love Portland.  I live (relatively) near Portland.  It’s supposed to be very friendly to first-timers.  Registration is open.

PORTLANDMARATHON

It’s GO TIME.

My attachment to Chicago was a bit hard to let go of but as I considered the huge list of pro’s, it was a no-brainer:

Pros:

  • BIRTHDAY WEEKEND!!! Aaaaaaand I will get my first marathon in on the last day of age 30.  F*CK YES.
  • Much closer to California so the travel is less expensive and less stressful.
  • MUCH closer to Seattle so spectating will be much easier, more convenient, and less expensive for my family.
  • Food trucks.  Food trucks.
  • Bestie lives in Portland.
  • VOODOO DONUTS.  WHAT BETTER PRE AND POST RACE FUEL IS THERE?
  • Less expensive!
  • Mid 50’s.  After training all summer, how GOOD will that feel?
  • The Chicago Marathon will always be there and because it won’t be my first one, I won’t need my entourage to travel with me!

I pondered for about 10 minutes, got the blessing from my parents and dude, and registered!  And then I got REALLY excited.  Woke up this morning, still REALLY excited.

I AM GOING TO RUN A MARATHON.

3 thoughts on “Change of Plan

  1. Anna says:

    I am so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

